BAFTA Cymru 2022: Winners Announced

BAFTA Cymru 2022: Winners Announced

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts in Wales has announced the winners of BAFTA Cymru 2022.

The British Academy Film and Television Arts Cymru have announced the winners of their 2022 awards, live from a ceremony in Cardiff’s St David’s Hall. Back in person after a two year hiatus for the pandemic, the awards were hosted by Alex Jones and celebrated those writing, directing and producing creative work, as well as those acting in it.

It was a good night for Expectation Entertainment’s drama, In My Skin, as they picked up three awards in total, for Director: Fiction, Television Drama and Writer, while feel-good film Dream Horse walked away with two awards (Actor, for Owen Teale and Sound Team). Emilia Jones took home the Actress award for her part in the coming-of-age film Coda, where she played the eponymous role. There were also two awards (Presenter and Entertainment Programme) for popular food programme Bwyd Byd Epic Chris.

The evening’s highest accolade, the Siân Phillips Award, was presented to Annabel Jones for her

Annabel Jones, winner of the Siân Phillips Award 2022

contribution to film and network television. With a varied and extensive repertoire spanning almost three decades, Annabel Jones’ credits include Dead Set (2008), Charlie Brooker’s various Wipe and Cunk incarnations (2009-present), Black Mirror (2011-present) A Touch of Cloth (2012-2014) and Death To 2020 (2020 and 2021) with a reputation for creating daring and entertaining television. Speaking ahead of the ceremony, Jones, said “It is a huge honour to be receiving this Special Award from BAFTA Cymru. I am very proud to be Welsh and the idea of being given this accolade by the Television and Film industry in my home country is more fanciful than any episode of Black Mirror.”

The 31st BAFTA Cymru Award Ceremony was broadcast on BAFTA’s YouTube channel and is available to watch here. Below is a full list of the BAFTA Cymru 2022 award winners announced throughout the evening.


Owen Teale – Dream Horse – Film 4 Productions / Topic Studios / Ffilm Cymru Wales / Ingenious Media / Raw TV / Popara Films / Warner Bros.


Emilia Jones – Coda – Apple TV+ / Vendrome Pictures / Pathe Films

Breakthrough Cymru

Chloe Fairweather – Dying To Divorce – Dying To Divorce Ltd / Aldeles As / Dartmouth Films

Children’s Programme

Hei Hanes! – Cwmni Da / S4C

Director: Fiction

Molly Manners – In My Skin – Expectation Entertainment / BBC One Wales

Director: Factual

Dylan Williams – Men Who Sing – Men Who Sing Ltd / Backflip Media / Cwmni Da / Dartmouth Films

Editing: Factual

Dan Young – Slammed – BBC Wales / BBC One Wales

Editing: Fiction

Elen Pierce Lewis – Landscapers – Sister In Association With South Of The River Pictures / Sky Atlantic

Entertainment Programme 

Bwyd Byd Epic Chris – Cwmni Da / S4C

Factual Series

Ysgol Ni: Y Moelwyn – Darlun / S4C

Feature/Television Film

Grav – Regan Development / Tarian Cyf / S4C

Gabrielle Creevy in In My Skin

Makeup and Hair

Claire Williams – The Pursuit Of Love – Open Book Productions / Moonage Pictures / Bbc One

News and Current Affairs

Coronavirus: A Care Home’s Story – ITV Cymru Wales

Photography Factual

Tim Davies – The Long Walk Home – Rediscover Media / Telesgop / BBC One

Photography and Lighting: Fiction

Will Baldy – The Pact – Little Door Productions / BBC One


Chris Roberts – Bwyd Byd Epic Chris – Cwmni Da / S4C

Short Film

Affairs Of The Art – Beryl Productions International / National Film Board Of Canada / BBC Two Wales

Single Documentary

Y Parchedig Emyr Ddrwg – Docshed / S4C


Sound Team – Dream Horse – Film 4 Productions / Topic Studios / Ffilm Cymru Wales / Ingenious Media / Raw TV / Popara Films / Warner Bros.

Television Drama

In My Skin – Expectation Entertainment / BBC One Wales


Kayleigh Llewellyn – In My Skin – Expectation Entertainment / BBC One Wales

Siân Phillips Award

Annabel Jones


You can find full details of the BAFTA Cymru 2022 Awards here.