wales book of the year

Dates Set for Wales Book of the Year 2017

Literature Wales has announced dates for 2017’s Wales Book of the Year, after a lengthy consultation and some concern that the awards would not go ahead at all this year.

The Wales Book of the Year Short List 2017 will be announced on Tuesday 10 October 2017.

The Short List comprises of three books in each of the following categories in both Welsh and English: Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.

The winners of the Wales Book of the Year Award 2017 will be announced at an Award Ceremony on Monday 13 November 2017 at Tramshed, Cardiff.

There are ten awards in total with a collective prize fund of £12,000. In both Welsh and English there are three category winners, one People’s Choice winner and one overall winner. The winner of each category will receive a prize of £1,000, and the overall winner in each language will be awarded a further £3,000.

Literature Wales have also announced the judges for this year’s awards.

The Welsh language judging panel for Wales Book of the Year 2017 are: critic and reviewer, Catrin Beard; author and poet, Mari George; and Eirian James, owner of the independent bookshop, Palas Print in Caernarfon. The judges for the English language award are: author Tyler Keevil; academic Dimitra Fimi and award-winning poet Jonathan Edwards.