Welsh music prize 2019

Welsh Music Prize 2019 Shortlist Announced

The shortlist has been unveiled for the Welsh Music Prize 2019. The 12 nominees are:

Accu – Echo the Red

Audiobooks – Now! (in a minute)

Carwyn Ellis and Rio 18 – Joia!

Cate Le Bon – Reward

Deyah – Lover Loner

Estrons – You Say I’m Too Much I Say You’re Not Enough

HMS Morris – Inspirational Talks

Lleuwen – Gwn Glan Beibl Budur

Lucas J Rowe – Touchy Love

Mr – Oesoedd

Adwaith – Melyn

Vri – Ty Ein Tadau

A group of over 100 Welsh Music Prize Jurors discuss record releases throughout the year in an online space, helping to unearth or champion albums that are eligible for the Welsh Music Prize. The jurors are made up of journalists from online, broadcast and radio media, music retailers, promoters, live music venues, managers, sound engineers, marketeers and many others working across music in Wales, or Welsh and working in music elsewhere. Anyone who fits that criteria can be a juror – you can just get in touch to join in. Once the jurors have collated the long list of eligible albums, they each vote for their favourite five, ranking them in order of preference. These votes then determine the Welsh Music Prize Shortlist.

The Welsh Music Prize is an annual music prize awarded for the best album from Wales, as voted for by members of the music industry. It was founded by music promoter John Rostron and radio presenter Huw Stephens in 2011.