Welsh Music Prize 2022

Welsh Music Prize 2022 Shortlist Announced

The Welsh Music Prize 2022 shortlist has been announced. The final 15 albums were selected from the longlist of more than a hundred that were eligible for prize. The award celebrates and highlights the best new music in Wales and is sponsored by Welsh Government and PPL, and supported by Help Musicians. The winner will receive a cheque for £10,000 presented at this year’s ceremony at Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff  by BBC Radio 1 presenter Sian Eleri.

The 15 albums on the shortlist are:

Adwaith – Bato Mato (Libertino Records)

Art School Girlfriend – Is It Light Where You Are (Fiction)

Bryde – Still (Easy Life Records)

Breichiau Hir – Hir Oes I’r Cof (Libertino Records)

Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard – Backhand Deals (Communion)

Cate Le Bon – Pompeii (Mexican Summer)

Carwyn Ellis & Rio 18 and The National Orchestra of Wales – Yn Rio (Legere Recordings)

Dead Method – Future Femme (Future Femme Records)

Danielle Lewis – Dreaming In Slow Motion (Red Robin Records)

Don Leisure – Shaboo Strikes Back (First World Records)

Gwenno – Tresor (Heavenly Recordings)

L E M F R E C K – The Pursuit (Noctown)

Manic Street Preachers – The Ultra Vivid Lament (Sony Music)

Papur Wal – Amser Mynd Adra (Libertino Records)

Sywel Nyw – Deuddeg (LWCUS T)


The judges for Welsh Music Prize 2022 are:

Aoife Woodlock – Other Voices, Matt Wilkinson – Apple Music, Nest Jenkins – Backstage, ITV Cymru Wales, Sizwe – Artist/Beacons Cymru. Sophie Williams – NME, Tegwen Bruce Deans – Journalist, Daniel Minty (Minty’s Gig Guide)


Previous Welsh Music Prize winners are: Kelly Lee Owens (2021), Deyah (2020), Adwaith (2019), Boy Azooga (2018), The Gentle Good (2017), Meilyr Jones (2016), Gwenno (2015), Joanna Gruesome (2014), Georgia Ruth (2013), Future of the Left (2012), Gruff Rhys (2011).