mark albrow

Digithon Music | The Soundscapes of Mark Albrow

Enjoy our late night gig with the soundscapes of north Wales artist Mark Albrow.







Mark Albrow says:

 I did a degree in Fine Art in Sheffield and joined an experimental audio-visual group whilst trying to make a living from portraiture. The group called Hula became busier than my painting, we utilised film and slide projection when playing live and did an event at the Mappin Art Gallery utilising sound sculptures in an exhibition there. It was recorded and came out as ‘Shadowland’ .Now re-issued on the Klanggalerie label (as are many of the group’s back catalogue). My wife and I moved back to North Wales (Llandudno) in 2014. We met in school in Menai Bridge many moons ago. We have an art studio down the Conwy Valley and are members of the Anglesey Art Group and the Denbighshire Art Society. I am also a member of ‘Oscilloscope’ an experimental electronic music society based in Llanfairfechan.

The Gate Brondanw piece was made from a recording of a gate at Brondanw near Llanfrothen in North Wales.I thought its screech was particularly tuneful so recorded it and combined an extremely slowed down version with a repeated slowed version, added some tones to warm it up a bit and a heartbeat underneath. This is typical of my approach-its akin to using a macro lens on a camera only applying it to sound.

‘Whispers in the Wind’ is the result of dragging textiles over a contact mic and slowing down, stretching and treating the recording. I sometimes multi-track the recordings and put slightly different treatments on to create a different feel and combination of frequencies.

‘Debbie’s’ is made from a metal ‘peace drum’ my wife bought me for a birthday present because when I heard it I felt I had to have one. The resonance generated has an extraordinary effect and I have used it on a few of these pieces-again sometimes slowed stretched and treated. This has some piano on it too. ‘Freak Summer Hailstorm buries cars in Mexico’s Guadalajara’

is a joint effort between my youngest son who works in sound under the name ‘Zillch’ on Bandcamp/soundcloud. He sometimes puts out small looped pieces inviting others to do something with them, so I responded to one that hooked me.

‘Sarah has fairer hair than Mary’ is based on some tapes of my late father’s who was a phonetician. That is his voice calling my elder sister , and that is my elder sister’s voice aged about four or five combined with recordings of vocal exercises. I had not heard these until after his death ten years ago.

Track listing

  1. Debbie’s 2:45
  2. Gate Brondanw 3:21
  3. Freak Summer Hailstorm.. 3:27
  4. Sarah has fairer hair than Mary 4:00
  5. Grey and Green 3:15
  6. Shu door bleeps 3:00
  7. Parade of Souls 2.=:07
  8. View from Sychnant Pass 5:27
  9. Whispers in the Wind 8:00
  10. Its Misty on the tops 9:20
  11. Anglesey 18:17