Wales Book of the Year

Announcement | Wales Book of the Year

Wales Arts Review is very proud to announce our partnership with Literature Wales to host the online vote for the 2015 Wales Book of the Year People’s Choice Award. From the time the Wales Book of the Year shortlist is announced on the afternoon of Friday May 1st, you will be able to vote via an online form on a designated spot of the Wales Arts Review site. The vote will close on June 1st and the winner announced at the Wales Book of the Year ceremony in Galeri Caernarfon on June 4th.


More information about the awards.

The Wales Book of the Year prizes are awarded annually to the best Welsh and English-language works in the fields of creative writing and literary criticism in three categories: Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction. The Poetry category is entitled the Roland Mathias Prize for Poetry.

The Awards are presented to the best books published in the previous calendar year, with £2,000 each awarded to the six category winners. The two main winners in each language receive an additional £6,000.

The Wales Book of the Year Award is administered by Literature Wales, the national company for the development of literature in Wales.

A panel of three English-language judges and three Welsh-language judges decide on three titles in each category to compile the Short List. Over 140 books have been submitted for the Wales Book of the Year Award 2015, and the judges have been reading through boxes of submissions since March 2014. Judging the English-language titles are poet and musician Paul Henry, writer Tessa Hadley and journalist and literary critic Alex Clark. Judging the Welsh-language submissions are novelist, translator and editor Annes Glynn; poet and lecturer Hywel Griffiths; and DJ, performer and writer Gareth Potter.

The Wales Book of the Year Short List Announcement will take place on Friday 1 May at 1.00 pm in the form of an on-line broadcast which can be viewed on the Wales Book of the Year website.

The People’s Choice winner will be announced alongside the main Award Winners at the Award Ceremony at Galeri Caernarfon on Thursday 4 June, where the successful author will receive a specially commissioned trophy, so every vote is important. Each category winner will receive a prize of £2,000, and the two main winners in each language will receive an additional £6,000.

Tickets for the Award Ceremony are £10.00 (£8.00 concessions) and can be purchased directly from Galeri Caernarfon:
01286 685222 /