Welsh-language Shortlist | Wales Book of the Year Award 2022

The Welsh-language shortlist for Wales Book of the Year Award 2022 has been announced by Literature Wales, featuring selections for the four categories of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and children & young people.

The Wales Book of the Year Award celebrates the best literary works from the previous calendar year with nominations across the four categories for both Welsh and English language titles. This Monday,  Literature Wales announced the Welsh-Language shortlist on Radio Cymru’s Studio program.

The 2022 Welsh-language shortlist was decided by five judges: broadcaster Mirain Iwerydd, presenter and columnist Melanie Owen, academic, writer and editor Siwan Rosser, and director, poet and author Gwion Hallam. The judges sifted through more than 70 submitted titles to reach their final selections.

You can see the shortlisted titles for each of the four Welsh-language categories below.

Poetry Award 

Cawod Lwch, Rhys Iorwerth (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch) 

Merch y llyn, Grug Muse (Cyhoeddiadau’r Stamp) 

Stafelloedd Amhenodol, Iestyn Tyne (Cyhoeddiadau’r Stamp)  

Creative Non-Fiction Award 

Dod Nôl at fy Nghoed, Carys Eleri (Y Lolfa) 

Eigra: Hogan Fach o’r Blaena, Eigra Lewis Roberts (Gwasg y Bwthyn) 

Paid â Bod Ofn , Non Parry (Y Lolfa) 

Welsh@BangorUni Fiction Award 

Hannah-Jane, Lleucu Roberts (Y Lolfa) 

Hela, Aled Hughes (Y Lolfa) 

Mori,  Ffion Dafis (Y Lolfa) 

Children and Young People Award 

Gwag y Nos, Sioned Wyn Roberts (Atebol) 

Pam?, Luned Aaron a Huw Aaron (Y Lolfa) 

Y Pump (Y Lolfa) 

Tim – Elgan Rhys with Tomos Jones 

Tami – Mared Roberts with Ceri-Anne Gatehouse 

Aniq – Marged Elen Wiliam with Mahum Umer 

Robyn – Iestyn Tyne with Leo Drayton 

Cat – Megan Angharad Hunter with Maisie Awen 

Speaking on behalf of the Judging Panel, Melanie Owen said: “It is a huge privilege to be a member of the judging panel this year. I love to read and to write, so having the opportunity to enjoy the works of some of Wales’ best writers was a dream. It’s fair to say that the panel’s discussions have been vibrant and impassioned – with so much talent in front of us, this isn’t surprising. The standard amongst the submissions was so high, and made our decisions difficult, but it has been a fantastic opportunity to celebrate Welsh literature.”

The English-language shortlist will be announced on BBC Radio Wales The Arts Show on Friday 1 July.


Recommended for you:

Wales Book of the Year 2021 Winners

The winners of this year’s Wales Book of the Year 2021 Award have been announced, with Catrin Kean taking the title prize for her novel, Salt.