Alys Conran Gary Raymond

News | Wales Book of the Year Winners Announced

Alys Conran’s Pigeon was announced as winner of Wales Book of the Year 2017 (English Language) at a ceremony at Cardiff’s Tramshed last night. Conran made a clean-sweep in the fiction, People’s Choice Award, and the overall Wales Book of the Year Award, following on from recent years when short story writer Thomas Morris and poet Rhian Edwards who also won all three.

Also winning in the English language categories were John Freeman in poetry, and Peter Lord in creative non-fiction.

Idris Reynolds won the overall prize in the Welsh language for his book Cofio, Dic, while Aneirin Karadog won in the poetry category and Caryl Lewis added to her three trophies from last year’s awards for her novel Y Gwreiddyn.


English language winners and runners-ups

The Roland Mathias Poetry Award

Winner – What Possessed Me by John Freeman

The Other City by Rhiannon Hooson

Psalmody by Maria Apichella

The Rhys Davies Trust Fiction Award

Winner – Pigeon by Alys Conran

Cove by Cynan Jones

Ritual, 1969 by Jo Mazelis

The Creative Non-Fiction Award

Winner – The Tradition by Peter Lord

Jumpin’ Jack Flash by Keiron Pim

The Black Prince of Florence by Catherine Fletcher


Welsh language winners and runners-up shortlist

Poetry Award

Winner – Bylchau by Aneirin Karadog

Chwilio am Dan by Elis Dafydd

Llinynnau by Aled Lewis Evans

Fiction Award

Winner – Y Gwreiddyn by Caryl Lewis

Ymbelydredd by Guto Dafydd

Iddew by Dyfed Edwards

Creative Non-Fiction Award

Winner – Cofio Dic, Idris Reynolds

Gwenallt by Alan Llwyd

Optimist Absoliwt by Menna Elfyn